Board of Management

The Board of Management has overall responsibility for the running of the school. It serves for a term of four years. Our present Board was formed in November 2023. The Board of Management acts on behalf of the patron and in accordance with the regulations of the Department of Education and Skills. It operates as ‘one corporate body’. This means that “The board acts as one unit in terms of its function in addressing the business of the school”. The elected parents and teacher, once elected, do not act in a representative or communicative role. Two parents – one father and one mother – of children in the school are elected to the Board of Management. The two elected parents are then the ‘nominees’ of the Parent Body on the Board of Management. As is the case with the one elected staff representative and the two co-opted community representatives, the two elected parents are now part of a ‘Body Corporate’ i.e. the Board of Management, whose function it is to manage the school. The two parent representatives contribute to and uphold the decisions and policies of the Board of Management. This means that, other than the agreed report from each Boards of Management meeting, all other matters must remain confidential. They, the parent’s nominees, have no function in bringing individual parental complaints to the Board. Such issues can be dealt with through the agreed complaints procedure or brought to the Board of Management either through the Principal or by a letter to the Chairperson. The Board of Management will serve a 4-year term from its inception. The Board of Management provides leadership and ensures effective management of the school, within an agreed school budget and a framework of accountability. All eight members of the Board once appointed act together as a unit.

Members of the Board of Management, St Corban’s BNS, 2023-2027

  • Johnny McMahon (Chairperson).
  • Fr. Robert Petrisor (Patrons’ nominee).
  • John Drewett (Principal, Secretary).
  • Yvette Delaney (Teachers’ nominee).
  • Marjorie Quinn (Treasurer, Community nominee)
  • Jan O’Donoghue (Community nominee).
  • Carrie-Ann Devitt (Parents’ nominee).
  • Robert Kennedy (Parents’ nominee).

Board of Management Meetings are held every five to six weeks during term time. All submissions to the Board must be received in writing at least 10 days before the meeting and must be signed. This Board will be dissolved in November 2027 and a new Board of Management will be elected.