Here in St. Corban’s, we implement the Department of Education and Skills’ Revised Primary School Curriculum (1999). The curriculum outlines the contents of children’s learning – the what and how of children’s learning – for children’s first eight years in school, from junior infants to sixth class.

The curriculum aims to:

  • develop each child’s potential to the full
  • encourage a love of learning
  • help children develop skills they will use all their lives.

The curriculum is presented in seven areas, some of which are further subdivided into subjects. These are:

  1. Language: Gaeilge (Irish) and English
  2. Mathematics
  3. Social, environmental and scientific education (SESE): History, Geography and Science
  4. Arts education: Visual Arts, Music and Drama
  5. Physical Education (PE)
  6. Social, Personal and Health Education (SPHE)
  7. Religious education is the responsibility of the different school patron bodies.  The Catholic Preschool and Primary Religious Education Curriculum for Ireland (2015) is the curriculum from which Grow in Love is written. Grow in Love is the Religious Education series for Catholic Primary schools and it is implemented in our school.